Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 6, 2011 Page 1 of 4

COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 6, 2011 - 6:00 PM 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM

District Mission Statement

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, a learning community rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to educate all students by providing rigorous educational opportunities to become responsible, productive, life-long learners in a global society.

1. CALL TO ORDER AT 6:09 P.M.

2. <u>ADVISEMENT</u>

This meeting was called for the reorganization of the School Board under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. Public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. By notice of the Board Secretary, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes.

3. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

Board of School Directors

Diane M. Brownfield - present J. Neil Campbell - present Joseph E. Dunn, Jr. - present James L. Fox - present Paul L. Johnson - present Laurie C. Knecht - present Richard M. Ritter - present William A. Sweigart - present Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor - present

Administration

Richard W. Como, Superintendent of Schools - present Kenneth D. Lupold, Director of Business Administration/Board Secretary - present Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Assistant Superintendent & Director of High Schools - present Dr. Teresa Powell, Director of Elementary Education & Mathematics Specialist K-12 - present Dr. Orysia Stanko, Director of Middle Schools - present Dave Krakower, Director of Special Education - present Erika Zeigler, Director of Human Resources - present Abdallah Hawa, Director of Technology - present

Solicitor James E. Ellison, Esquire - present

4. <u>MOMENT OF SILENCE AND FLAG SALUTE</u>

Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 6, 2011 Page 2 of 4

SCHOOL BOARD REORGANIZATION (Kenneth Lupold, Board Secretary)

Reading of the List of Legally Elected and/or Qualified School Directors:

<u>Region I</u>	(Coatesville, Valley)	Diane M. Brownfield Paul L. Johnson Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor
<u>Region II</u>	(West Brandywine, Caln)	J. Neil Campbell Joseph E. Dunn, Jr. Richard M. Ritter
<u>Region III</u>	(East Fallowfield, Modena, Sadsbury, West Caln, South Coatesville)	James L. Fox Laurie C. Knecht William A. Sweigart

6. <u>SWEARING IN OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS</u>

District Magistrate Gregory Hines swore in the new and re-elected board members from Regions I & III. District Magistrate Michael Cabrey, III swore in the re-elected board members from Region II.

7. REVIEW OF VOTING PROCEDURES BY THE SOLICITOR (James Ellison, Solicitor)

Attorney James Ellison reviewed the voting procedures.

8. <u>ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT</u>

Nominations were entertained for election of a Temporary President.

Laurie Knecht moved and seconded by Diane Brownfield to nominate Paul Johnson for Temporary President.

A motion was made by Paul Johnson and seconded by Diane Brownfield that the nominations for a Temporary President be closed. On a unanimous roll call vote, the nominations were closed.

Diane Brownfield moved and seconded by Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor that Paul Johnson be elected as Temporary President. On a unanimous roll call vote, Mr. Johnson took the chair.

9. <u>ELECTION OF OFFICERS</u>

A. <u>PRESIDENT</u>

Temporary President Johnson asked for nominations for President for the year 2012.

Nominations for President:

Diane Brownfield moved and seconded by William Sweigart to nominate Neil Campbell for President.

5.

Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 6, 2011 Page 3 of 4

A motion was made by Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor and seconded by William Sweigart that the nominations for President be closed. On a unanimous roll call vote, the nominations were closed.

Paul Johnson moved and seconded by Diane Brownfield that Neil Campbell be elected as President for 2012. On a unanimous roll call vote, Mr. Campbell took the chair.

B. <u>VICE PRESIDENT</u>

President Campbell asked for nominations for Vice President for the year 2012.

Nominations for Vice President:

Joe Dunn moved and seconded by Diane Brownfield to nominate Rick Ritter for Vice President.

A motion was made by Paul Johnson and seconded by Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor that the nominations for Vice President be closed. On a unanimous roll call vote, the nominations were closed.

Neil Campbell moved and seconded by Diane Brownfield that Rick Ritter be elected as Vice President for 2012. On a unanimous roll call vote, Mr. Ritter became the Vice President for 2012.

10. <u>REMARKS BY THE NEW PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT</u> None

11. <u>REMARKS BY THE PAST PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT</u>

Rick Ritter and Neil Campbell both thanked the Board for their support in the past and hoped for equal support in the next year.

12. <u>PUBLIC BOARD MEETING DATES</u>

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors approves the Public School Board Meetings for 2012 be advertised as per the attachment. *(Enclosure)*

In accordance with School Board Policy #006, adopted September 27, 2001 and revised on May 23, 2002 and October 19, 2004, all Board Members and the District Superintendent shall be advised of the dates and times for the scheduled public Committee and Board meetings.

2012 Public School Board Meeting Dates

2012 Public Board & Committee Meeting Dates

Approved

Vote: 9-0-0

Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 6, 2011 Page 4 of 4

The Reorganization meeting will be held on December 4th at 6:00 p.m. and the regular school board meeting will immediately follow.

2012 Committee Meeting Dates

January 10th July – no meeting February 14th August 14th March 13th September 11th October 9th April 10th May 8th November 13th (Monday) June 12th December – no meeting

Motion: Diane Brownfield

Second: Paul Johnson

Vote: 9-0-0

13. **COMMITTEES**

RECOMMENDED MOTION: That the Board of School Directors approves the committees as follows:

Community and Student Relations Education Finance and Personnel Operations

Motion: Diane Brownfield

Second: Paul Johnson

Vote: 9-0-0

14. **BOARD PRESIDENT'S REPORT** None

15. **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The Board has requested all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

None

16. **ADJOURNMENT**

This meeting was adjourned at 6:28 p.m. on a motion by Diane Brownfield and seconded by Dr. Tonya Thames Taylor.

Respectfully submitted, Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Kenneth D. Lupold, School Board Secretary

If any Board Member or member of the public wishes to review the minutes verbatim, please contact the School Board Secretary and make arrangements to come to the District Office and listen to the meeting tapes.